Review: Lost in Starlight (Starlight Saga #1) by Sherry Soule

Lost in Starlight (Starlight Saga #1)

ISBN: 978-0692224427

GENRE: Upper YA / SyFy Romance

Release date: June 26, 2014

Available in both paperback and eBook formats

Rated: PG-13

I received a copy of this title from the author. It does not impact my review.

Synopsis from Good Reads:

High school reporter Sloane Masterson knows she has one helluva story when she witnesses hottie Hayden Lancaster bending forks with his mind. Like any good journalist, Sloane sets out to uncover the truth, even if it includes a little stalking. When the superhuman feats start to pile up and the undeniable heat rises between them, Hayden has no choice but to reveal his secret: he’s an alien hybrid.

They’re as different as night and day—she’s a curvy, purple-haired, horror junkie and he’s a smoking hot, antisocial, brainiac—yet the intense fascination between them refuses to go away. Even at Hayden’s insistence that dating each other is “off limits” and crazy dangerous, their fiery attraction threatens to go supernova.

Now Sloane’s dealing with creepy government agents, über snobby extraterrestrials, and a psycho alien ex-girlfriend out for revenge. After a crash course on the rules of interstellar dating, Sloane must decide if their star-crossed romance is worth risking her own life….

I’ve heard the Lux series by Jennifer Armentrout described as “Alien Twilight”, but now I have to disagree. “Lost in Starlight” fits the comparison much better.  And I don’t mean that in a bad way. (Come on, you all know you loved Twilight before it was cool to hate on it.) It has a lot of similarities to Twilight and to the Lux series, but it’s still it’s own unique story in a lot of other ways.

Sloane is a pretty great main character. I waffled at times on whether or not I completely liked her, but I think that makes her a more authentic character. Teenage girls are complex, complicated beings whose moods and personalities can alter at a drop of a hat. Sloane is a strong female with integrity, but was also slightly > a lot boy crazy/dependent when it came to Hayden.

I also liked that Sloane is not the perfect size two, super popular OR super “above it all”. She has a group of friends that are different, but not necessarily “outcasts.”  She dresses like an edgy Lola Nolan and in a size 12-14 (thought I don’t remember Hot Topic selling those sizes when I was in high school…). She deals with some guys only interested in her for her chest (I understood this part of the plot, but thought there was a little too much emphasis on it) and other guys fat-shaming her. I felt like her struggle with self-consciousness on her way to acceptance to be a refreshing change in YA literature – especially because the acceptance wasn’t just because a guy was into her (though it helped, obviously).

I didn’t feel Hayden was as developed as Sloane. He was a likable enough character, sweet and a little cheesy, protective. When the “big reveal” finally happens, I thought it was a little too rushed and I would have liked a lot more information on the Zetas and their community. Hopefully this will come in the next books.

The plot was a little slow, mostly focusing on Sloane’s investigation of Hayden and then developing their relationship. The end got a little more action-packed, but I wish there would have been a little more build up to it throughout the book. There is also a clue to a twist in the end that I guessed almost right away, but still really liked the way it was cleverly revealed.

Overall, I mostly enjoyed Lost in Starlight. Though there was some mild language and sexual content, I think the younger end of the YA spectrum would enjoy it a little more. I loved the character development of Sloane and the sweet moments between her and Hayden. I would recommend this book to fans of Twilight and YA paranormal romance.

Rating (out of 5):
Plot: 3
Characters: 3
Readability: 3
Enjoyability: 3
Total Average:  3 stars

Read an excerpt Here

Buy on Amazon Here

Add “Lost in Starlight” to your TBR List on Good Reads Here

2 thoughts on “Review: Lost in Starlight (Starlight Saga #1) by Sherry Soule

  1. LOL, I totally saw the Lux/Twilight connection but it didn’t bother me. I didn’t hate the Twilight series. I thought the story was okay. I hated Bella because she was willing to give up EVERYTHING for a boy and I thought she was a terrible role model. But the story was okay. I just thought the writing was a little…juvenile, maybe.

  2. Pingback: Guest Post: Author Sherry Soule’s Dream Cast for Lost in Starlight | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

