Reviewing the Unreviewed: March

I read a lot of books that I don’t end up reviewing for whatever reason. Some because I wasn’t impressed. Some because I didn’t have the time. Some I just wasn’t feeling it on whatever particular day I finished. I thought I’d start doing a post once a month (or couple months) with just the couple thoughts I shared on Good Reads.

Stranded (Alaskan Courage, #3)

Stranded (Alaskan Courage #3) by Dani Pettrey. Read February 26-March 1. 3 stars.

Pettrey’s writing keeps improving with each book.

I’m still not a huge fan of Darcy, but she was likable enough. I liked Gage and the growth he made throughout the story.

The mystery was good, though predictable.

Bitter Sweet Love (The Dark Elements, #0.5)

Bitter Sweet Love (The Dark Elements #0.5) by Jennifer Armentrout. Read March 1-2. 2 stars.

You can always count on JLA for some good romance, but the story itself wasn’t that interesting. Then again, I’m not generally a fan of prequels.

White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1)

White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements #1) by Jennifer Armentrout. Read March 2-4. 3 stars.

Classic JLA.

The Offering (The Pledge, #3)

The Offering (The Pledge #3) by Kimberly Derting. Read March 5-8. 3 stars.

While I didn’t love this series, I’m glad I finished it. I felt like all the characters pretty much got a good ending and the Sabara plotline was resolved nicely.

Fractured (Will Trent, #2)

Fractured (Will Trent #2) by Karin Slaughter. Read 12-15. 3 stars

While I enjoyed Will’s character development in this book, the mystery aspect wasn’t as great as the previous book. I didn’t find myself at all surprised by who the culprits were. I’m still looking forward to the next book, though.

No Place Like Oz (Dorothy Must Die #0.5)

No Place Like Oz (Dorothy Must Die #0.5) by Danielle Paige. Read March 16. 2 stars.

I’m not generally a fan of prequels and this story did nothing to change my mind. I’m still planning on reading Dorothy Must Die, but I’ll wait for it to come to the library or borrow it instead of buying it.

Undone (Will Trent #3)

Undone (Will Trent #3) by Karin Slaughter. Read March 16-19. 4 stars.

Loving the Will Trent series.

Broken (Will Trent, #4)

Broken (Will Trent #4) by Karin Slaughter. Read March 19-22. 3 stars.

This book seemed to focus much more on character development than the actual crime/mystery. While I normally would not have a problem with that, the characters most developed were Sara and Lena, who I believe are both from the Grant County series. This is the Will Trent series and I really just want more Will Trent.

My other complaint with this series is that no one seems to care about marital status. Faith had an affair with a married man. Will is technically married to Angie (even though she’s the same awful person she’s always been), and Sara’s MISSIONARY SISTER encourages Sara to start something up with Will.

Despite the few things I don’t like, there are still a lot of things I do like about Slaughter’s writing and I’m continuing on with the rest of the series.

Fallen (Will Trent, #5)

Fallen (Will Trent #5) by Karin Slaughter. Read March 22-23. 3 stars.

While I did really enjoy this book, I found the big secret a little disappointing.

Snatched (Will Trent #5.5)

Snatched (Will Trent #5.5) by Karin Slaughter. Read March 24. 4 stars.

While I don’t normally care for most novellas I liked this one. It didn’t do anything with character development, but it was a fast paced mystery with a satisfying conclusion.

Waiting On You (Blue Heron, #3)

Waiting on You (Blue Heron #3) by Kristan Higgins. Read March 27-29. 3 stars.

Another cute story from Kristan Higgins. In the previous Blue Heron books I didn’t care for Colleen at all, but I did like her in this book. I wish there was more of the Holland family and more of Colleen’s twin, Connor. I also loved the interaction between Lucas and his youngest niece and would’ve liked more of that, but overall I really enjoyed the series and look forward to the next book from Higgins.

Busted (Will Trent, #6.5)

Busted (Will Trent #6.5) by Karin Slaughter. Read March 29-30. 2 stars.

This was a quick read, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as the rest of the Will Trent series.

***********************************************************************

PUT BACK ON THE TBR SHELF

Butterfly Palace

Butterfly Place by Colleen Coble.

The story just failed to grab me, but it has potential, so I might try it again someday.

Fates

Fates by Lanie Bross.

I’ve been waiting for awhile to read this book, and found it pretty disappointing. It was confusing, yet predictable. The only thing I really liked was Luc’s POV. If it was all told from his POV, I might’ve read more of it. I don’t know if I will ever return to this, but we’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Reviewing the Unreviewed: March

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

