Review: Secret by Brigid Kemmerer

Secret (Elemental, #4)

Synopsis from Good reads:

Nick Merrick is stretched to breaking point. He’s trying to keep his grades sky-high or he won’t get in to college. He’s trying to keep his brother’s business afloat or the Merricks will be out on the street. He’s trying to keep the secret of where he’s going in the evenings from his twin brother Gabriel – or he fears he’ll lose his family. And he’s trying to keep his mind off the hot, self-assured dancer who is his ‘girlfriend’s’ partner.

And then Quinn takes to hanging around his sworn enemy, and an Elemental Guide is counting the hours until he can try again to kill the Merrick brothers. Storms are brewing. On all sides.

This is going to be more of some random thoughts than a full review. Because it’s my blog and I can do what I want to.

-Michael is still my favorite Merrick. By far. I can’t wait for his book next. And I’m so, so happy that the cover is not insanely horrible. (Not good, mind you, but compare the picture below to the picture above. For real.)

Sacrifice (Elemental, #5)

-I still don’t like Quinn. But she’s on her way to being not completely horrible.

-I liked Tyler in this book. I think I’ll like him in future books since he’s no longer being a terrible, hateful human being.

-There was no Gabriel-Hunter bromance in this book, which made me sad. There just weren’t enough of the other Merricks, period. And Layne had like one line of dialogue. Becca was in it a bit more than previous books, but still not enough of her, either.

-This book focused way more on the romantic aspects instead of really moving the Elemental plot along. When we finally get around to it, it felt too rushed.

-I felt like Kemmerer was trying to make more of a political point than she needed to. For me, I would’ve liked Nick’s relationship with Adam to be part of Nick’s story and not all of Nick’s story. There’s so much more to people than their sexual orientation and I felt like Nick got the shaft a bit in this book because that’s all that was really focused on. How about how insanely powerful we find out he is with the air element? Barely brushed the surface on that.

-Overall, I enjoyed Secret and still recommend this series.

Rating (out of 5):
Plot: 2.5
Characters: 3.5
Readability: 4
Enjoyability: 3.5
Overall Average: 3.375 stars

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Secret by Brigid Kemmerer

  1. Pingback: Wish They Would/Wouldn’t Wednesday | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Review: Sacrifice (Elemental #5) by Brigid Kemmerer | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

