Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist

639f0-toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is: Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist (if you could make authors write about these things you would. Could be a specific type of character, an issue tackled, a time period, a certain plot, etc.)

I really love this topic! I think mine will be a mixture of general ideas/characters and requests to specific authors.

1. While I love a good romance, I think I would like to see something where the main character does NOT end up with the guy/girl. Unrequited love in books often turns into the main character ending up with “the one you never expected who loved you all along” or something like that. I’d love a well done, realistic unrequited love story.

2. A realistic Christian character. In regular fiction, Christian characters are often portrayed as religious nuts who are more concerned with appearance and judging than anything actually Christ related. In Christian Fiction, the characters are often just on the verge of perfection. I’d like to see a more realistic portrayal: someone who has faith, but still has struggles. Who can hang out with his/her non-Christian friends and not be all judgey or boring.

3. Mermaids! I don’t know why.

4. Workplace Satires. I was recently talking to one of my newer co-workers about her previous place of employment that was just a horrible atmosphere. Even though our office has pretty great people now, there are still some of the same types of personalities in every office: The Suck-up, The Gossip, Everybody’s Friend, The Psycho, The Status-Climber. I’d love to read something funny and think, “Oh that’s so (Fill-in-the-blank)!”

5. Realistic appearances. The average person is not stunningly beautiful. The average man does not look like an Abercrombie model. Too many books use looks as a reason for the characters to be attracted to each other and then come up with the secondary reasons later. I’d like to see some slightly out of shape people get together once in a while.

6. An entire series released at one time. I HATE starting a series only to realize that there’s a long wait for the third or fourth, etc. book to come out next. I know that this is a completely unrealistic request, but wouldn’t it be great if you didn’t have to wait a year between books?!

7. More (well done) multiple 1st Person POV. Because it’s my favorite.

8.  Rainbow Rowell – More Lincoln & Beth! More Eleanor and Park! More Cath and Levi! Just more in general. I love you.

9. Suzanne Collins – How about a Gale Hawthorne spin-off? Because seriously, what happens with him?

10. Veronica Roth and Lauren Oliver – How about some Alternate Endings that I could pretend are the real thing to your latest series enders?

What do you want to read about?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist

  1. So I will write for you a simultaneously-released multiple first person POV series about an un-judgy Christian mermaid who is a size 12 and works in an office where she doesn’t end up with the guy at the end.

Leave a Reply

