2014 Bookish Resolutions

Happy 2014 everyone! I usually don’t make resolutions because I always seem to give up on them rather quickly, but this year I decided to try. In addition to my personal resolutions, I came up with a few bookish resolutions, too.

1. Quality over Quantity

In 2013 I didn’t mean to read a crap ton of books, but somewhere along the way it kind of became a game with myself to see how many I could fly through. I enjoyed it and read, as I mentioned, a crap ton of books, but not all of them were really worth my time. This year I want to be a little more discerning about what I read.

2. More Age Appropriate Books

I turned 30 in 2013 and most of the books I read were based on characters just a little older than half my age. Now I love YA. And I’ll continue to read the series that I love, but there were a lot I read that kind of drove me crazy more than anything else. I want to add some more adult themed books this year – and when I say “adult themed” I mean based on adult characters.

3. Stay Away from New Series

Now I already have a few books on my TBR shelf that are the first books in new series and if an author I like has one coming out, I’ll read it. But, the wait between books is always agonizing, so if I start a new series, I want it to be one that’s already completely published.

4. Be Less Harsh with my Ratings/Come up with a New Rating Scale

I review books on a scale of 5 stars, basically because that’s what Good Reads has and I used Good Reads before I started my blog. But I’m generally pretty harsh when it comes to rating. There was not one book in all of 2013 that I gave 5 stars to, though there were several books I really, really loved. For some reason or another I decided it didn’t deserve 5 stars. The majority of books I read I gave 3 – 3.5 stars to. I want to have a firmer opinion on whether a book is good or bad and if I like it, I want to show it a little more love.

5. Get Back into Writing Reviews

Over the past couple months I’ve really slacked on writing reviews for anything and I want to write them- and enjoy doing so- again.

6. Re-Read My Favorites

Because of my maniacal reading binge in 2013, I only wanted to read new books so I could add it to my final number. This year I want to go back and read some of those books that I gave 5 stars to back in the day and write some reviews on them.

7. Don’t be Afraid to “Do Not Finish”

I have this compulsive need to finish not only books I start, but series, regardless of how much I actually enjoy it. I just have to know what happens! This year if a book annoys me or doesn’t interest me, I just want to realize it’s not for me and put it away. I can always go back to it someday if I want to. And if I must know what happens, I can probably find a spoilery review. Again, this year is about quality and not quantity.

5 thoughts on “2014 Bookish Resolutions

  1. Good goals! If a book series really annoys you and you don’t want to finish but still want to know what happens, you can always cheat– Wikipedia holds all the answers.

  2. Pingback: Review: All the Truth that’s in Me by Julie Berry | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: 2014 Bookish Resolutions – How did I do? | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

