Sentinel (Covenant #5) by Jennifer Armentrout – 3.5 stars (out of 5)

Sentinel (Covenant, #5)

Synopsis from Good Reads:

It’s a beautiful day for a war.

As the mortal world slowly slips into chaos of the godly kind, Alexandria Andros must overcome a stunning defeat that has left her shaken and in doubt of their ability to end this war once and for all.

And with all the obstacles between Alex and her happily-ever-after with the swoonworthy Aiden St. Delphi, they must now trust a deadly foe as they travel deep into the Underworld to release one of the most dangerous gods of all time.

In the stunning, action-packed climax to the bestselling Covenant series, Alex must face a terrible choice: the destruction of everything and everyone she holds dear… or the end of herself.

Sentinel is the last book in the Covenant series and I found it to be a pretty satisfying conclusion.

*SPOILERS AHEAD*

-Seth is back!!!! And he’s not a psycho!!!! And he’s back to being my favorite!!!! Not that that excited me or anything…But seriously. I love Seth. I love his banter with Alex. I love how protective he is of her. I love that he no longer is being the controlling douche he was in books #3 and #4.

-And since Seth is back and has joined the Army of Awesome, Alex is able to take some of his power and become the God Killer. My favorite part about this final fight to take out Ares is that Aiden actually kept his promise and didn’t try to fight with them. I understand him wanting to be there for Alex. But his insistence was ridiculous. Dude. He’s the god of a war. You’re a little Pure-Blood. THERE IS NO WAY YOU MAKE IT OUT OF THAT ALIVE! I was very happy when he finally agreed to not be there and that he stuck to it. I also liked that Alex and Seth had to work together to do it.

-So the downside of becoming the God Killer is that the gods are going to want you dead after you do their dirty work so you can’t go after them. Alex was about 99% sure that was going to happen, but was still holding out hope since Apollo – the only one who can kill her – says he’ll take care of her. However, taking care of her does not include keeping her alive. So she dies, after a nice last moment with the very distressed Seth. Unlike that other book that killed off it’s heroine, I felt like Alex’s “death” makes sense. We found out at least a book ago that this would probably be the ending. And she is the only one who can do it. And it basically saves all mankind. Was I bummed that she died? Of course. But it seemed to make sense with the story.

-But dead is such a relative term when it comes to a book that details the Underworld – where you can play video games and still hang out with your friends. Alex gets to see Caleb (!) and her mom and Olivia and even Lea. But obviously she’s still not that happy about it. After completing a little ceremony with Apollo, she finds out that her mortal life is over, but he had previously given her a drink that has made her immortal. And Aiden has also been given that drink – thanks to a deal that Seth makes with the gods, which sucks for Seth, but sets up his spin-off series nicely. (Can I say how excited I am for a whole series about Seth!? I’m excited!) In exchange for the immortality they have to spend 6 months in the Underworld and 6 months in the mortal world for all eternity. Does that make much sense? Not really. But it’s still a happily ever after for Alex and Aiden that I find pretty satisfying.

-Overall, I enjoyed Sentinel and the whole Covenant series. Though Lux is still my favorite JLA series, I would recommend this series to fans of her. I would also recommend it to people who enjoyed The Vampire Academy series – they have similarities, but I ended up liking this series way more. I would also recommend this series to fans of Greek Mythology. I’m sad that it’s over, but I’m looking forward to more Seth in the future.

5 thoughts on “Sentinel (Covenant #5) by Jennifer Armentrout – 3.5 stars (out of 5)

  1. Pingback: Last Chance to Enter my 1 Year Blogaversary Giveaway! | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Taylor Swift Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Unpopular Opinions Tags | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: 2 Year Blogaversary | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: Happy Galentine’s Day! Celebrating my Favorite Female Authors | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

