Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout – 3 stars (out of 5)

Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)

Synopsis from Good Reads:

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

As I mentioned in my Monday’s Minutes, the Covenant series has a lot of similarities to The Vampire Academy series. There’s a race that is hidden from the humans and they’re divided into 3 groups: The Elite (Pure Bloods in Covenant, Moroi in VA), The Lesser (Half-Bloods and Dhampirs) that are trained to protect the Elite, and The Evil (Daimons and Strigois) that they can be turned into. There’s a girl that’s been away for several years and finds herself back in the community where an older and romantically forbidden guy volunteers to train her. Forbidden Romance ensues.

Though there are all those similarities, it’s not the same book. And I prefer Jennifer Armentrout to Richelle Mead any day (no offense Richelle! I love Adrian Ivashkov very much).

Ok, so here’s My Thoughts:

-I had a  little trouble liking Alex for most of this book. She’s so impulsive and disrespectful. I know she’s supposed to be sarcastic and tough and cool, but I spent a lot of my time rolling my eyes at her. That said, I did start to like her a little more as the book went on.

-I liked Aiden. He’s kind and sweet and funny and brave. He’s the first Romantic Lead I’ve read in Armentrout’s book that doesn’t have that whole cocky arrogant thing going on. This is usually the type of guy that I prefer, but I found I just didn’t really like him and Alex together. I think part of it was that there wasn’t enough build up. It wasn’t insta-love, but I didn’t really get where it came from. She had a crush on him forever. They had a couple nice moments training. Then Boom.

-The secondary characters were well developed. I like her best friend, Calab, a lot and Aiden’s younger brother, Deacon. Lea, the resident Mean Girl, and a couple of other Half-Bloods and Sentinels are all used well and not just backdrop for Alex. I look forward to finding out more about her step-father Lucian’s motivations.

-And then there’s Seth. He has the whole cocky arrogant thing going on that Aiden lacks and I hate to admit that that’s maybe why I love him so much. I am totally Team Seth. He’s such an interesting character and we just didn’t get enough of him in this book. My favorite part was towards the end where he and Alex finally spend some talking.

Overall, I enjoyed Half-Blood. I’ve heard lots of great things about this series and I look forward to reading the rest of it, but the Lux series is still my favorite of Armentrout’s books.

One thought on “Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout – 3 stars (out of 5)

  1. Pingback: Monday’s Minutes | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

