Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer – 3 stars (out of 5)

Spirit (Elemental, #3)

Synopsis from Good Reads:

With power comes enemies. Lots of them.

Hunter Garrity just wants to be left alone. He’s learned the hard way that his unusual abilities come at a price. And he can’t seem to afford any allies.

He’s up to his neck in hostiles. His grandfather, spoiling for a fight. The Merrick brothers, who think he ratted them out. Calla, the scheming psycho who wants to use him as bait.

Then there’s Kate Sullivan, the new girl at school. She’s not hostile. She’s bold. Funny. Hot. But she’s got an agenda, too.

With supposedly secret powers rippling to the surface everywhere around him, Hunter knows something ugly is about to go down. But finding out what means he’ll have to find someone he can trust…

RANDOM SPOILERY THOUGHTS

-The covers for this series…So bad. Why does Hunter look like he’s from the ’80s?

-The bromance lives! It goes through issues, but it survives. It’s the reason I gave this book 3 stars

-Michael Merrick is once again officially my favorite Merrick brother. He’s wise beyond his years. He’s sweet. He puts up with so much crap. I heart him.

-This book made me like Hunter way, way less. Gone is Confident Hunter and he’s replaced with Whiney, Confused Hunter. Seriously, he drove me nuts. The plot moved so slow and instead of actual events it was just page after page of Hunter trying to figure out what the right thing to do is and who he should trust. It got old real quick. He redeemed himself a little in the end, though.

-I could not stand Kate. At all. I was not sad at all when *SPOILER ALERT* she died. Her relationship with Hunter never made any sense to me. I understand their similar background, but she was horrible and used him from the start and he’s just so dumb about girls. I’m glad she won’t be around in the future.

-I missed all the Merricks, they were just occasionally around – except for Michael, which I appreciated. I think Layne had one line and Becca had just a couple. I think Kemmerer could do a better job of incorporating all the characters a little more, instead of just the main couple of each book.

-Overall, while still good, I did not enjoy Spirit as much as I did the other Elemental books. However, I would still recommend it to those that have started the series – and recommend the series to those who like YA sci-fi.

2 thoughts on “Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer – 3 stars (out of 5)

  1. Pingback: Wish They Would/Wouldn’t Wednesday | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Review: Sacrifice (Elemental #5) by Brigid Kemmerer | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

