Resist by Sarah Crossan – 3 stars (out of 5)

Resist (Breathe, #2)

Synopsis from Good Reads:

The sequel—and conclusion—to Sarah Crossan’s Breathe. Three teen outlaws must survive on their own in a world without air, exiled outside the glass dome that protects what’s left of human civilization. Gripping action, provocative ideas, and shocking revelations in a dystopian novel that fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth will devour.

Bea, Alina, and Quinn are on the run. They started a rebellion and were thrown out of the pod, the only place where there’s enough oxygen to breathe. Bea has lost her family. Alina has lost her home. And Quinn has lost his privileged life. Can they survive in the perilous Outlands? Can they finish the revolution they began? Especially when a young operative from the pod’s Special Forces is sent after them. Their only chance is to stand together, even when terrible circumstances force them apart. When the future of human society is in danger, these four teens must decide where their allegiances lie. Sarah Crossan has created a dangerous, and shattered society in this wrenching, thought-provoking, and unforgettable post-apocalyptic novel.

First off, I want to give props to Sarah Crossan for letting a series end at two books. These days so many YA books are just automatically trilogies – and often more. That’s not to say that some series don’t deserve to be, but more often than not I find that the story just becomes agonizingly long and drawn out way past the time I’ve stopped caring about the characters. I think that Breathe deserved another book and we got it, but Crossan told the story without drawing it out, even though she easily could have.

Resist picks up where we left off in Breathe and is told in multiple 1st Person POV from Alina, Bea, Quinn, and Ronan. Ronan’s POV is new to this installment and since it’s been awhile since I read the first book, it took me awhile to get a handle on who he is and why I should care about him. But once I got a little further into the book he became one of my favorite characters.

There’s a lot of additional characters introduced when Alina, Silas, and the rest of their small group that escaped The Grove makes it to Sequoia, a fortress they believe is part of the Resistance. Basically none of these characters were likable in the least, but they weren’t really supposed to be. I liked how we discover it isn’t actually part of the Resistance and their leader, Vanya, is crazypants. But I think a little less time could have been spent there since not a whole lot happened.

I did not like that Quinn and Bea were separated for almost all of the book. Quinn even says once towards the end when they split up yet again,

“We keep bloody leaving each other,” I say, which wasn’t part of the plan. The plan was to find Bea and never let her go.

However, I did like that the focus of this book was towards the war between the Ministry and the Resistance and Sequoia, and not so much on the romance. Because if it’s focus was the romance then there definitely would have been a love triangle between Bea, Quinn, and Ronan. Instead, it’s just hinted at, with Ronan realizing it would be a lost cause since Bea has always had a thing for Quinn.

*SPOILER*

I wasn’t happy that Alina died in the end. I recently read another book where the main character died and it was poorly done and ridiculous. At least in this book, though, it made sense with the story. Where in that other book (I don’t want to spoil it for people who haven’t read it so I don’t want to name the book) the heroine died basically because her own hasty, ill-advised plan failed, Alina’s death is not of her own making. She doesn’t set out to be a hero or make a big sacrifice. She’s thrown into a situation where there’s only one way out to save the pod and she does it. Where I would’ve been much happier if Crossan let Alina live through it – and she could have – I can understand the decision to kill her off. Also, while Alina is a main character, she not the main character. I would’ve been way more mad if Bea had been killed instead.

*END OF SPOILER*

Overall, I enjoyed Resist, but was left a little unsatisfied. Where I’m glad Crossan didn’t try to squeeze another book out of it, I felt like we could’ve used just a little more story. I would’ve liked to have seen what happened to the secondary characters at the end of the book, other than just the couple we did see. I would recommend this book to anyone who read Breathe and would recommend the series to those who enjoy Dystopian YA that’s light on the romantic clichés.

 

4 thoughts on “Resist by Sarah Crossan – 3 stars (out of 5)

Leave a Reply

