Allegiant by Veronica Roth – 2 stars (out of 5)

Allegiant (Divergent, #3)

Read a synopsis here.

I was SO excited for this book. I had already decided that it would be wonderful. I wonder if I would’ve disliked it as much if I had lower expectations for it. Because I really didn’t like it. 2 stars is being generous, but since I loved the beginning of the series I just couldn’t bring myself to give it less.

Before I start with the spoilers – because I really can’t honestly discuss this book without spoilers – I want to comment on the writing style. As we all know by now, multiple 1st person POV is my favorite. Allegiant is told through alternating chapters from both Tris and Four’s 1st person POV. It did not work. The voices were not different at all. When they were in a group and not just in their own head, I had trouble remembering who’s POV it was. Even when they were just in their own heads, Four still sounds exactly like Tris.

While I liked having Four’s POV for the sake of getting more story, the multiple 1st person just didn’t do it justice. I also didn’t  like that it meant so much of the story was told from Tris and Four being away from each other. More on this to follow…

For those that don’t want to be spoiled, I will just say this. Allegiant starts out fast paced, but then slows down. If you’ve read the series so far, I would still recommend that you read it, but it’s one of the worst endings to a series I’ve ever read.

SPOILERS FROM HERE ON OUT!

Back to the thought from above. Four (this book has me thinking of him as Tobias, but I liked Four from Divergent better, so I’m going to refer to him as such) and Tris had a lot of strife in Insurgent, but seemed to reconcile at the end. I was not looking for more strife between them in this book, but that’s what I got. Yes, they ultimately reconciled and that was good, but so much of this book was them spent away from each other or fighting when they were together. And it all seemed so pointless. They act like adults in every other area of their lives, but when it came to their relationship, they really are just teenagers.

I started to dislike Four a bit in this book. He stopped being the damaged but strong guy we all fell in love with and just focused on being damaged. So much of the time was him feeling sorry for himself. Yes his parents suck and obviously left him with scars, but he was such a great character because even though he still struggled, he was able to overcome it and became this really great, smart, thoughtful, strong guy. In Allegiant he just totally backslid for almost the whole book.

I felt like most of the time there was just too much going on. New characters. New government. Genetic Damage. Revolutions. Experiments. Serums. The Fringe. Lies, lies, and more lies. And none of it was really done that well, either.

I also thought Tris’ death was totally uncalled for. First off, I think it’s dumb to kill the main character in any series and that it was basically done for shock value. The whole second book was basically dedicated to Tris trying to sacrifice herself to make her parents proud and then realizing that was wrong. And then in this book she does just that. There was a lot of lead up to this, a lot of talk about sacrificing for the greater good and that it’s only worth doing if it’s in the name of love. So she takes Caleb’s place because she loves him even if she can’t forgive him for his earlier sins and that’s supposed to make us feel like her death is very meaningful. But it’s not. The whole memory serum plan and the need for a sacrifice just seemed so contrived. I really do not see the purpose of killing her off at all.

So overall, I was super disappointed with Allegiant. I felt like the biggest questions – about the Divergents and the Edith Prior video and their world in general – were answered almost right away and then a new, way less interesting plot took over. I didn’t think  it was possible for the end of a series to disappoint me more than Requiem (the Delirium series) did, but I think this book did it. So read this book if you’ve already invested in the series, and then go back and read Divergent and pretend Allegiant doesn’t exist. That’s what I plan on doing.

22 thoughts on “Allegiant by Veronica Roth – 2 stars (out of 5)

  1. Sorry this book was so terrible. You were so excited for this book– it’s like waking up on Christmas morning when you’re a kid and finding that the only presents Santa brought you were socks. 😦

  2. I definitely agree with all your points here. So so disappointing. I feel like it was a mishmash of so many threads, none of which were satisfactorily tied up in the end. Another thing that bothered me was the fact that the majority of the characters didn’t get what they deserved, especially the villains. Jeanine and Eric were the only ones in the entire series that got what was coming for them, nobody in Allegiant did. David, Caleb, Marcus etc. get to live out their lives with little to no repercussions for their actions! Annoying!

    I also felt that everything post Tris’ death I didn’t even care about any more, I didn’t even enjoy the zip-lining scene at the end. I completely lost interest. So yeah, big disappointment. Such a shame because the first two books were so fantastic! I feel like when I get my hardcover in the mail now, (I also got the ebook at midnight so I wouldn’t have to wait) I’m just gonna put it on my shelf and never look at it again 😦

  3. Thanks for the comment! I agree with about the other characters. If Roth felt the need to write a shocking death, there were a lot of better choices than Tris that would’ve made more sense. I have the first 2 books in hardcover, but I got the ebook of this one. I was going to buy the hardcover later to round out my collection, but I really don’t want to spend the money on it now.

  4. Pingback: Trust in Me by J. Lynn – A quick review | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  5. Thank you so much for your review! I totally agree. When she died I didn’t even feel anything. I think I just sat here saying what is the point! it made me sad because in other book series characters deaths really hit me hard. Dual pov did nothing for me and i just ended up disappointed. I think I’m just going to pretend that Divergent is the only book in the series.

  6. Pingback: Veronica Roth discusses the end of Allegiant | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  7. Pingback: 30 For 30 | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I’m Dying To Read | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  9. Pingback: Sentinel (Covenant #5) by Jennifer Armentrout – 3.5 stars (out of 5) | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  10. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  11. Pingback: Review – Untold (The Lynburn Legacy #2) by Sarah Rees Brennan | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  12. Pingback: Last Chance to Enter my 1 Year Blogaversary Giveaway! | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  13. Pingback: Monday’s Minutes | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  14. Pingback: Taylor Swift Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  15. Pingback: Unpopular Opinions Tags | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  16. Pingback: Totally Didn’t Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  17. Pingback: The 1989 Book Tag | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  18. Pingback: I Love You, but I Don’t Like You Right Now: Pet Peeves About the Book Blogging Community | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  19. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

