Top Ten Tuesday: Book Turn-Offs

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday sponsored by The Broke and the Bookish is about Book Turn-Offs. For me, these don’t necessarily mean I’ll stop reading, but it usually means I won’t like it.

1. Too much description. I don’t want to read pages and pages of description at a time. I am much more interested in plot and character development.

2. Love Triangles. These are almost impossible to avoid when reading YA fiction, but it always annoys me. There’s always the obvious answer and it’s hardly ever the Best Friend from the beginning of the book (who I almost always favor).

3. POV changing between 1st and 3rd Person. As I’ve mentioned before, I feel like this is cheating.

4. Resolution to a mystery coming out of left field. We’ve all read a book where we think we know what’s coming and end up being totally wrong. I don’t mind that at all. I like to be able to look back and think, “yeah, that makes sense. I should’ve thought of that.” But I HATE when there is no possible way for you to figure it beforehand.

5. A slow pace. I don’t need action on every page (in fact, I don’t usually care for a whole lot of action), but I hate when nothing happens for chapters and chapters at a time. Move the plot along.

6. Adult behavior in YA books. Too much drinking, sex, and cursing from teenagers always annoys me. Also when they are constantly faced with more adult life situations than high school aged decisions.

7. Tiny misunderstandings turning into major turmoil. I think this most often happens in Chick Lit. When one tiny thing happens and instead of fessing up, the character lies about it and it just grows more and more ludicrous and out of control. I just want to shake them and yell at them to tell the truth.

8. Weak characters trying to save the day. This mostly happens in YA fantasy/dystopian. It’s always a girl who tries to go up against supernatural creatures or characters much stronger than her and always just ends up making things worse.

9. Predictable plots. When you can call every single thing that happens in a story. I don’t want things coming out of left field, but I still would like to be surprised by something.

10. “I’m so Pretty” rhetoric. When a major character trait is how beautiful someone is. Especially when it’s the main character that keeps mentioning it. And especially when they’re lamenting that they’re only seen as a pretty face.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Turn-Offs

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays : Book turnoffs | A World of Books

  2. Love triangles are getting old. Especially when they’re not particularly believable. Switching POV gets obnoxious. I like it when it’s two different characters, in first person … as long as it’s done well.

Leave a Reply

