Bloodlines by Richelle Mead – Some Thoughts so far

Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1) The Golden Lily (Bloodlines, #2) The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines, #3)

Click the picture for a full synopsis of each book.

The Bloodlines series is the spinoff of the Vampire Academy series. I’m not feeling a full review right now, so I’m just going to go with some thoughts about the series so far.

BEWARE OF SPOILERS

-As I mentioned in my Monday’s Minutes, I like Sydney more than I did Rose from The Vampire Academy. She’s more mature and not as impetuous. She’s just all-around more likable. One major problem I had with her, though, was in the first two books where she obviously has an eating disorder and it’s never addressed. She is finally confronted by Adrian in the end of the second book, so she’s a little better by the third book.

-There aren’t a lot of surprises in this series so far. Everything is pretty predictable. The writing and the characters (and by characters I mean Sidney and Adrian) still make it an enjoyable read.

-After the first book, the secondary characters kind of stop developing. They still have some storylines, but we don’t see much of them and they really aren’t developed into the full characters I would expect them to be this far into the series.

-I’m not really a fan of the magic/witch storyline. I found myself skimming the parts where it focused solely on Sidney practicing or learning about magic.

-With a spinoff series you still expect to get some interaction with the first characters you met. The first couple books had a little tiny bit of Rose and Dimitri and just a glimpse of Lissa and Christian. I hope the next books brings them back a little bit more. Or at least gives us a little more information about their lives now.

-Ok, now let’s just all agree on the reason for reading this series: ADRIAN. I loved him in The Vampire Academy and I love him now. He’s still charming and sarcastic and tortured. But he also grows a lot in this series. His relationship with Sidney really challenges him to be a better version of himself, not change into a different person like he was with Rose. And I just love him and Sidney together – their banter, their teamwork, their spirit dreams…

-Overall, I would suggest this series to anyone who read The Vampire Academy series and was disappointed in the end of it, like I was. I agree with the other bloggers I’ve read that the Bloodlines series is better than VA. While I would suggest reading VA before this series, I don’t think it’s absolutely necessary. I am anxiously waiting for the next book in the series to come out in November.

5 thoughts on “Bloodlines by Richelle Mead – Some Thoughts so far

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Character Names I Love/Unusual Character Names | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get My Hands | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: Wish They Wouldn’t: Back-door Pilot | Stephanie's Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: Review: The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6) by Richelle Mead | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

