Top Ten Tuesday: Best Sequels Ever

This week’s Top Ten, sponsored by The Broke and the Bookish, is about the best sequels ever. My picks aren’t necessarily sequels that I liked better than the first, but ones that were just as enjoyable. (Click on the cover for synopsis.)

1. Circles of Time: A Novel
Circles of Time by Phillip Rock, the follow up to The Passing Bells. This book is a little more like what I thought the first book would be. And there is lots of Martin Rilke, one of my favorite literary characters ever.

2. Unravel Me (Shatter Me Series #2)
Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi, the second book in the Shatter Me series.

3. Scarlet
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, the second book in The Lunar Chronicles. I actually enjoyed this book more than I did, Cinder.

4. Onyx (Lux Series #2)
Onyx by Jennifer Armentrout, the second book in the Lux series. As I’ve said many times, I love this series.

5. Insurgent (Divergent Series #2)
Insurgent by Vernoica Roth, follow up to Divergent. This book ramped up the action, the romance, and the “mythology”.

6. Catching Fire (Hunger Games Series #2)
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, follow up to The Hunger Games. The first book in the series will always be my favorite, but this series is one of my all time favorites and Catching Fire did not disappoint.

7. Pray for Silence (Kate Burkholder Series #2)
Pray for Silence by Linda Castillo, the second book in the Kate Burkholder series. I think this one might actually be my favorite storyline of the series.

Ok, so I only have a top 7 because I can’t really think of any more. I’m sure as soon as I post this or read through some other’s lists I’ll come up with some more. What sequels do you think are the best ever?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Sequels Ever

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays: Top ten Sequels | A World of Books

    • Pray for Silence is part of the Kate Burkholder series. Kate is chief of police of a small town in Amish country and used to be Amish herself. Each book has a new case, but there’s plot lines about Kate’s life that continues between each book. It’s a great series, but I think one reason I like it so much is that it takes place in Holmes County, Ohio, which is very close to where I grew up.

      And I also recommend every other book I listed 🙂

Leave a Reply

