Booking Through Thursday: Tragedy or Comedy?

Question (Hosted by Booking Through Thursday): All other things being equal (good writing, enthralling story, etc), which would you rather read—something serious, angsty, and tragic? Or something light, fluffy, and fun? Or a blend of both? (Since, really, isn’t that how real life works?)

I think it really depends on my mood and what I’ve recently been reading. For instance, when I tried reading the Confessions of a Shopaholic series, there was only so many in a row I could handle before I needed something of substance. Conversely, after reading something heavy, like Dark Places by Gillian Flynn, I need something light to lift my spirits back up.

Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, #1)Dark Places

Obviously a mix of both is always good. But realistically that doesn’t really happen. Something truly angsty and tragic is never going to be “fluffy.” The most you can usually hope for is a little dark humor. And anything light and fun is never going to go to far into the tragic.

Overall, I think I usually prefer the light and fun that contains a little drama, but generally ends happy – like Attachments by Rainbow Rowell.  That’s not to say I don’t enjoy reading the tragic, as well. Some really wonderfully written books that have characters that stuck with me long after reading have been really horribly depressing books  Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro, Defending Jacob by William Landay, for example.

What do you prefer?

Never Let Me Go  Defending Jacob Attachments

Leave a Reply

